STA 2013 Member of the Year

  • November 21, 2013

wb staThe Drew Smith member of the year award recognizes the dedication and contribution to the Turfgrass Industry in the Province of Saskatchewan. This award acknowledges the commitment to professionalism in his vocation as a member of the Association. This year's recipient exemplifies the above.

Jason Thorhaug know from a very young age we forever be involved in golf.

In 1999, Jason enrolled in Turf Management at Olds College in Alberta and worked at Innisfail Golf Club for the 2000 season, receiving his diploma in 2001.

Always eager to learn, Jason moved to the Springs Golf Course Radium Resort at Radium Hot Springs, British Columbia as Ground, Co-Irrigation Tech, and Second Assistant until 2003.

In 2004 Jason returned to Willow Bunch to work as Jim Cote's Assistant. He was eager to return to the course where he first learned to play golf, now with irrigated fairways and grass greens.

In 2005, Jason became superintendent at the Willow Bunch Golf Course. He embraced this challenge with vigour. Known as an extremely hard worker, Jason also worked at the neighboring Assiniboia from 2008 to 2011. He was superintendent-consultant.

Jason meets all of his challenges with determination, continuing to improve his golf course that instilled the love of golf in him.

The Saskatchewan Turfgrass Association is proud to present the Drew Smith Member of the Year award to Jason Thorhaug.

About the STA

  • Saskatchewan's Turfgrass Association, founded in 1979, is a non-profit organization. The S.T.A. was organized by a group of Turfgrass Professionals which has grown to include people from Parks, Golf Courses, Sod Growers, Cities and Commercial Companies.